MIL WEBSITE BANNER.png

mind in labor

live-online

Are you experiencing increased levels of stress and anxiety during your pregnancy?
 
Are you looking for ways to cope with the fear and pain that often accompanies childbirth?

Mind in Labor Online (MIL Online) is an online weekend course designed for expectant parents who are curious how practicing mindfulness meditation can make a difference in their labor and delivery experiences.
 
This course trains participants in mindfulness skills in addition to covering childbirth education basics. All content is delivered live and participants will have the opportunity to interact with the instructors and other expectant parents. Additionally, participants will engage in guided meditation practices and receive materials to continue at home after the course. 
 
Participants will:

  • Practice mindfulness for working with pain and fear during labor

  • Understand the mind/body connection in childbirth for maintaining the optimal physiology for childbirth

  • Learn how to be fully present to give comfort and support as a birth partner

This course is a good fit for first-time parents OR those with previous birth experience who need a refresher or want to approach their births in a different way.
 
This course is rooted in evidence-based research. Published research on the benefits of taking a Mind in Labor course during pregnancy show lower rates of maternal depression during pregnancy, immediately following childbirth, and postpartum.

mind in labor online: OUTLINE

Day 1:

Experience the benefits of practicing mindfulness during pregnancy

Day 2:

Birth physiology & working mindfully with pain
 

Day 3:

Practicing mindful movement to prepare for childbirth

mind in labor online: SCHEDULES

The Instructor

Jill Beattie, PhD, MN [Education], GradDipMiCBT, RN, RM

Jill Beattie is a mindfulness-based emotional fitness teacher who works with people to meet their needs to enhance emotional wellbeing and resilience. With a background in nursing, midwifery, education and research, Jill delivers mindfulness-based programs within the community and to nurses throughout Australia. She has experience working with people who present with stress, anxiety, depression, and trauma. Jill conducted a clinical trial with pregnant women into the effects of mindfulness training on stress, depressed mood, and present moment awareness, compared to an active control group pregnancy support program. Jill is delighted to offer mindfulness programs to evolving parents.

The Instructors

Eluned Gold, Msc, RMN, PGCE

Eluned Gold has been working in the field of health and well-being for more than 40 years, as a therapist and mindfulness teacher.  She trained to teach MBSR with Ferris Urbanowski and other teachers from the Center for Mindfulness in Massachusetts in 2001, and later in MBCT with Mark Williams.  Eluned subsequently worked as a Mindfulness teacher and trainer for the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice (CMRP) Bangor University, for 20 years. ​She is excited to be involved with the work of bringing mindfulness to families at the beginning of their parenting journey. 

Michele Kavanagh, MSc, DClinPsych

Michele Kavanagh is a mindfulness teacher and supervisor, and consultant clinical psychologist. She has worked within the UK National Health Services for over 20 years with trauma affected families and carers within looked after children services. She has been teaching trauma sensitive mindfulness to children and their carers since 2002.  She has an interest in delivery of this programme to parents and carers who experience a degree of pressure and vulnerability in their lives.  Her intention is to create a nourishing and gentle learning space where participants connect and cultivate a friendly interest in their lived experience. 

SERIES B - 24 April, 1 May, 8 May 2021

(Australasian Timezone)

 

Day 1:
Saturday, 24 April 2021
6 pm - 9 pm ACST / 4:30 pm - 7:30 pm HKT
 

Day 2:
Saturday, 1 May 2021
11 am - 7 pm ACST / 9:30 am - 5:30 pm HKT
 

Day 3:

Sunday, 8 May 2021
11 am - 6 pm ACST / 9:30 am - 4:30 pm HKT

 

[convert to your time zone]

SERIES C - 9 July, 10 July, 11 July 2021

(European Timezone)

 

Day 1:
Friday, 9 July 2021
4 pm - 7 pm UTC / 6 pm - 9 pm CET
 

Day 2:

Saturday, 10 July 2021
8:30 am - 4:30 pm UTC / 10:30 am - 6:30 pm CET
 

Day 3:

Sunday, 11 July 2021
8:30 am - 3:30 pm UTC / 10:30 am - 5:30 pm CET

 

[convert to your time zone]

Mind In Labor online: FEE schedule

Participant Rate

$300 - Singles

$450 - Couples

Professional Rate

$600 - Professionals

Professional applicants will join a waitlist to allow for the registration of singles and couples to be completed. You will be notified as soon as a professional place becomes available.

Scholarship Request

Need extra support? 

Join our scholarship waitlist 

for expectant parents.

Contribute to our

Scholarship Fund​ 

We are committed to providing access to MIL across socioeconomic levels. Want to help? Click the Donate button to sponsor an MIL scholarship. 

 

not ready to start your journey yet?

Join the waitlist for a later course 

MIL Series 2021-D - September 2021


MIL Series 2021-E - December 2021

If these dates or times do not work with your schedule or you are looking for a more in-depth mindfulness childbirth course you can learn about our 9-week Mindfulness-Based Childbirth and Parenting Online course

Questions? 

Email us at milonline@mindfulbirthing.org

 
 

mind in labor online REGISTRATION FORM

summary of research

Copyright © 2021 Mindful Birthing and Parenting Foundation

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube